New Teachers: Mrs. Jamie Garner

Mrs. Jamie Garner

Mrs. Jamie Garner

GRAPEVINE, Texas – Mrs. Jamie Garner comes to Faith after teaching government and economics for two years at Round Rock Christian Academy. She loves working with seniors and is looking forward to teaching economics at Faith. “It’s just fun watching you guys get to learn about the future and what’s coming and being able to think really big ideas,” she said.

Mrs. Garner holds a philosophy degree from Texas State University. “I majored in politics, philosophy, and economics at the King’s College in New York City. I made it about two and a half years there before my husband moved me away to Texas State, and I finished there,” she said.

Mrs. Garner described her family as “awesome” and said, “I don’t have any kids, but my husband’s a youth pastor so we joke that we have 250 of them. They’re the best kids because you get to give them away when they’re ornery.” She enjoys hanging out with her family and her dog, a miniature Schnauzer named Descartes as in the philosopher. “I’m a philosophy major. What can you do? I had to name my dog Descartes,” she said.

“I like to eat good food. I like to go to concerts—music venues,” Mrs. Garner said of her free time. She also enjoys cycling and participates in triathlons. “We do a lot of stuff with our church—Rock Point in Flower Mound,” she said.

Mrs. Garner is looking forward to a successful first year at Faith. “I’m bummed because only teaching economics, I only get everyone a semester at a time versus a whole year, so that’s tough. That’s an adjustment for me. I like seeing people succeed at stuff, so that’s what I look forward to the most,” she said.

To see this article as it originally appeared in the Grapevine Faith RAWR, click here.

Leave a Reply

