Retreat Surprises Senior

SPICEWOOD, Texas – Retreat surprised me. My class surprised me. Going into the week, I did not expect the trip to be enjoyable for seniors. After hearing nightmare stories of the workload, the lack of sleep, and meddlesome teachers, I planned just to try to survive the week.

Dr. Smith made it sound like we were very far behind on planning during Senior Bible the week before the trip. And to be honest, we probably were. We really hadn’t done any work over the summer to prepare, but at least the students would be fed. We had that covered.

I expected a lot of work when we got to T-Bar-M in preparation for the underclassmen’s arrival. While we did spend some time working on our small group lessons, we were given a surprising amount of free time to bond with our classmates and get to know them. We took a CPR class, which brought on a lot of laughs, and spent time on the high-ropes course. We made humorous memories in the kitchen, and I’m proud to say we didn’t burn anything.

I think it would be safe to say that the way God moved on Thursday surprised all of the seniors. Between Senior Share, Coach Brandon Smeltzer’s lesson, and the small group time that night, we were blown away. I think I took away more from my small group as their leader than they got from me. I can’t speak for the girls, but the men in our class stepped up to the plate for Senior Share even though some were a little uneasy about speaking.

Retreat may seem lame to some, especially as an underclassman — there are always some people who say they don’t want to go on the trip — but as a senior, I cannot think of a better way to get to know your classmates than living with them for a week and pulling something like this off.

There were some people who didn’t think our class could do it. We definitely did not have as much planned as some would say we should have, but we did it. And I would say we did a pretty good job of it as well.

To see this article as it was originally printed in the Grapevine Faith RAWR, click here.

Leave a Reply

