Student Returns After Four Months

GRAPEVINE, Texas – On Tuesday, February 17, senior Ashley Zartman walked into class at Grapevine Faith for the first time in nearly four months. Zartman was severely injured in a car accident on her way to school in October. After multiple surgeries and a long road of rehab and therapy work, she has finally been allowed to return to school even though it is for only two days a week.

Senior Ashley Zartman works on an assignment in Mrs. Kelley Stanley's AP English class on her first day back to school. Zartman was out for four months to recover from injuries sustained in a car wreck. / Photo Courtesy of Brandon Whiteley

Senior Ashley Zartman works on an assignment in Mrs. Kelley Stanley’s AP English class on her first day back to school. Zartman was out for four months to recover from injuries sustained in a car wreck. (Photo Courtesy of Brandon Whiteley)

Zartman had been back to the school earlier in her recovery process for short visits and to watch some basketball games, but this was her first day to return as a student. “It was so surreal,” she said. “I was told a few months ago that I probably wouldn’t be able to go back to school.” Zartman said walking back into class felt “like 12,000 pounds was lifted off my shoulders.”

Zartman said she felt “10,000% normal” and was just glad to be in school because she “was sitting there for four months not doing anything productive.” Dr. Potts has promised Zartman that she will graduate on time with her classmates. “I’m so excited about that because there’s no other class that I would rather graduate with,” she said.

That class donated all of their Homecoming competition funds to her family and wore light blue ribbons (Zartman’s favorite color) on their mums. “Honestly, the best part of my day is getting to wake up and look at the huge check that blessed my family,” she said. “I just really love my class, and that check reminds me why I love them every morning.

Zartman plans to attend classes only on Tuesdays and Thursdays while she re-adjusts to school and hopes to be back full-time after spring break. “I love that I actually get to say, ‘See you tomorrow,’” she said. “Oh my word, that’s just so cool.”

To see this article as it was originally published in the Grapevine Faith RAWR, click here.

Leave a Reply

