Seniors Earn Full-Tuition Scholarships

GRAPEVINE, Texas – Paying for college is one of the greatest financial expenses that anyone will face in his or her lifetime. However, for four Faith seniors, the costs of higher education won’t be very high at all. Sarah Steinmann, Hannah Holt, Brian Ogden and Alec Ciulla all received full scholarships.

Holt will attend Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas, next fall. She had to make at least a 31 on her ACT and have a GPA of at least 3.5 to be considered for her scholarship. 130 people applied for the scholarship, but only 25 were awarded full-tuition. She said she was “very nervous” about the interview in front of two judges. The interviews were filmed and shown to the board of trustees. “I ended up teaching my interviewers the word ‘loquacious’ when they commented on my ability to endlessly talk,” she said. “I referred to myself as loquacious, and they looked it up on their iPhones during the interview.” Holt plans to use the money to complete a double-major in finance and women’s ministry.

From left: Sarah Steinmann, Hannah Holt, and Brian Ogden will all attend college on full-tuition scholarships next year. (Photo courtesy of David Elliott)

From left: Sarah Steinmann, Hannah Holt, and Brian Ogden will all attend college on full-tuition scholarships next year. (Photo courtesy of David Elliott)

Steinmann will attend Texas A&M University with all her expenses paid. She was awarded the Terry Scholarship, which covers tuition, books, and room and board. Steinmann had already won multiple scholarships, including Nordstrom’s $10,000 award. “I’m so incredibly thankful for this opportunity I’ve been given,” she said. “I can’t wait to see all that God has in store for me.”

Ogden was awarded a full-tuition scholarship by the University of Alabama after he made a 34 on his ACT. Ogden said, “I had never considered Alabama before I heard about this scholarship. That opportunity made me visit [the] campus, and I ended up loving it.” He said it was the biggest reason he chose to attend college in Tuscaloosa. “The money kind of made the decision for me.” He plans to major in journalism and try to graduate early to start on a master’s degree.

Ciulla is the only one of the four who will not be taking the scholarship he was offered. He received a full-ride from the University of Arizona plus $389 a month to join the Navy ROTC, but never had time to visit the campus. “I’m not going to a school I never got to visit,” he said. Instead, Ciulla will attend Oklahoma State University in the fall.

To see this article as it originally appeared in the Grapevine Faith RAWR, click here.

Leave a Reply

